Wisconsin Potato Industry Board Nominations Open

The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) is accepting nominations through April 1, 2022 for three seats on the Wisconsin Potato Industry Board.

Producers who grow and sell potatoes in the following districts are eligible to nominate producers or be nominated to the board:

  • District 1: Ashland, Barron, Bayfield, Brown, Burnett, Chippewa, Clark, Door, Douglas, Dunn, Eau Claire, Florence, Forest, Iron, Kewaunee, Langlade, Lincoln, Marinette, Menominee, Oconto, Oneida, Pepin, Pierce, Polk, Price, Rusk, Sawyer, St. Croix, Taylor, Vilas, and Washburn counties
  • District 2: Marathon, Outagamie, Portage, Shawano, Waupaca, and Waushara counties
  • District At-Large: State-wide

DATCP will mail nomination forms to eligible growers. Producers must sign, notarize, and postmark completed nomination forms by April 1, 2022 and include signatures from at least five eligible growers other than the nominee. Growers should mail completed forms to P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI  53708-8911. Growers who have not received a nomination form by March 1, 2022 or have other questions about the nomination process should contact DATCP Market Orders Program Coordinator Debbie Gegare at (608) 224-5116 or [email protected].

DATCP will conduct the Wisconsin Potato Industry Board election from May 10 through June 15, 2022.  Elected growers will serve three-year terms beginning July 1, 2022 and ending June 30, 2025.

DATCP administers elections for Wisconsin commodity marketing boards. To learn more about the market order boards, visit https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/About_Us/MarketingBoards.aspx.