National Dairy Board Scholarships Announced

The dairy checkoff has awarded 12 academic scholarships to students enrolled in programs that emphasize dairy and who have shown potential to become future dairy leaders.

The National Dairy Promotion and Research Board (NDB), through Dairy Management Inc., which manages the national dairy checkoff, annually awards $2,500 scholarships to 11 students. In addition, the NDB awards a $3,500 James H. Loper Jr. Memorial Scholarship to one outstanding scholarship recipient.

Eligible majors include journalism, communications/public relations, marketing, business, economics, nutrition, food science or agriculture education. Scholarship criteria include academic achievement, a career interest in a dairy-related discipline, along with demonstrated leadership, initiative and integrity.

Ashley Hagenow, a University of Minnesota student who is majoring in agricultural communications and marketing, has earned the 2021-22 Loper scholarship. Hagenow is a native of Rio, Wisconsin

Students earning $2,500 scholarships are: Amelia Hayden (University of Minnesota – Twin Cities), Meghan Hettinga (South Dakota State University), Theodore Jacoby (South Dakota State University), Lance Lynn (Texas A&M University), Bobby Marchy (Oklahoma State University), Brianna McBride(Iowa State University), Margaret Molitor (South Dakota State University) Kaitlin Mirkin (University of Idaho), Jessica Schmitt (Iowa State University), Mackenzie Ullmer (University of Wisconsin-Green Bay) and Kendra Waldenberger (University of Minnesota-Twin Cities).