Wisconsin Counties Face ‘Disaster’ Drought

The USDA is designating Milwaukee and Rock counties as primary natural disaster areas due to drought.

The designation allows the USDA Farm Service Agency to extend emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. The application deadline is March 28, 2022.

Counties bordering Milwaukee and Rock counties are also eligible. This includes Dane, Green, Jefferson, Ozaukee, Racine, Walworth, Washington and Waukesha counties. Illinois’ Boone and Winnebago counties are also eligible as contiguous counties.

In addition, Douglas County, which is contiguous to Minnesota counties with the disaster status, is eligible for emergency loans. 

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of either D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.