WPA Holds Annual Meeting

The Wisconsin Pork Association held their annual meeting on June 2 at the Chula Vista Resort in Wisconsin Dells. The day long event included members voting on resolutions, election of directors, National Pork Delegate election, and keynote by Dr. Neil DeBuse and awards.

Members elected to the Board include incumbents Brian Klubertanz and Bob Spurley as well as newly elected directors Curt Watson and Jeff Morris. Rounding out the board are Alicia Prill-Adams, AV Roth, and Nathan Brickl. Officers for the year include Ray Ibeling, president; Christina Meylor, vice president; Ryan Cain, secretary; and Brian Klubertanz, treasurer.

Producers elected to serve as 2022 National Pork Board delegates elected for Wisconsin include Ryan Cain and Brian Klubertanz. Alternates are Alicia Prill-Adams and Christina Meylor.

Each year the association shows their appreciation to deserving individuals and companies who provide support throughout the year to Wisconsin’s pork industry. Congratulations to this year’s recipients.

Distinguished Public Service Award – Governor Tony Evers and the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (WDATCP) – Division of Agricultural Development received the award. Governor Tony Evers accepted the award and provided remarks on the work WDATCP did to assist with the Passion for Pork program during the pandemic as well as funding for Wisconsin farmers. Secretary Designee Romanski was available to accept the award on behalf of WDATCP.

Distinguished Producer Service Award – Topigs Norvsin a leading swine genetics company renowned for its innovative genetic solutions for cost-efficient pig production. WPA accepted the award on behalf of John Eggert, President and CEO.

Distinguished Industry Award – In 2015, Minitube USA was established in Delavan, Wisconsin. The company provides innovative products and timely service to their customers in the US and Canada. Led by John Quackenbush, CCO, and Dave Morley, COO, the company is supported by devoted technical team with the utmost quality sales and service support to their customers. John Quackenbush accepted the award on behalf of Minitube.

Distinguished Agri-Communicator Award – Walter “Wally” Taylor was the recipient of the award that recognizes an individual who promotes agriculture throughout the year. Wally is an ag instructor and past superintendent at the Wisconsin State Fair. He is passionate about discussing the livestock industry inside and outside the classroom.