Three Hundred Gather For FFA Alumni Convention

The Wisconsin FFA Alumni & Supporters are coming off of a successful 44th annual convention. It was Feb. 2-3 at the KI Convention Center and Hyatt Regency in Green Bay. About 300 FFA Alumni members and guests from across the state of Wisconsin attended this year’s event.

Next year’s convention is Feb. 7-8, 2025 in Stevens Point.


Chris Blank of the Cashton FFA Alumni & Supporters chapter is vice president. Grant Staszak from Bonduel is President. Nick Lowe from Stoughton is the President-Elect. Bobbie Jo Montgomery from Waupaca is Past-President.


The event recognized the 2023-24 Wisconsin FFA Officer Team for being lifetime members of the state and National FFA Alumni & Supporters. The convention honored the 2022-23 team for earning “100% State Lifetime Team” at the national convention this past fall.

Several teachers earned Outstanding Agriculture Educator Awards and a cash prize. These included Mary Handrich – Denmark, Joseph Heinbuch – New Holstein, Tracy Heinbuch – Plymouth, Walter Taylor – Oconto Falls, Hallie Rehn – Oconto Falls, Dan Robinson – Lomira, Mariah Markhardt – Oconto Falls, Samantha White – Stoughton and Jared Mack – Sauk Prairie. Troy Talford of Sauk Prairie earned “state-winning educator.”

Curtiss Steffes from New Holstein earned the Outstanding Young Member Award for his exceptional leadership.

Elkhorn FFA Alumni & Supporters won the Public Relations Award. This recognizes the efforts of a chapter to promote its activities and mission, utilizing various forms of media. Stoughton received second place and Granton received third place honors.

Lomira FFA Alumni & Supporters earned the Outstanding State Chapter in the small division. Winning the large division was the Oconto Falls FFA Alumni & Supporters.

Stoughton and Granton FFA Alumni & Supporters chapters received gold ratings in the National Outstanding Chapter Awards and will have their applications submitted to the national level of competition. Granton FFA Alumni & Supporters was also recognized as the overall winner in this area.

Outstanding Achievement awards went to Joe & Erin Conant of Stoughton and Richard and Judy Meyer of Colby. The Meyers will have their application forwarded to the national competition as the state winner.

The Dr. V.O. and Ann Martinson Award goes to the FFA Alumni with the greatest increase in lifetime members. River Falls FFA Alumni & Supporters is this year’s recipient.

O’Brien Auctioneers and Stuart Muck earned the Team Ag Ed Contributor award for their service, support, and commitment to the Wisconsin FFA Alumni & Supporters Association.

Retiring council members got recognition — Jerry Larsen from Luck; Dave Clausen from Amery; Rene’ Lehman from Waupaca; Gene Hetebrueg from Kewaskum; and Terri Wilfert from Mishicot.

2024-25 Council Section Representatives

  • Section 1 – Todd Coons, Shell Lake & Dave Clausen, Amery
  • Section 2 – David Meyer, Hudson & Agnes Buttke, Cadott
  • Section 3 – Derek Trescher, Cashton
  • Section 4 – Rick Bockhop, Platteville & Nick Huffman, Hollandale
  • Section 5 – Dan Ziegler, New Glarus & Jerry Wendt, Stoughton
  • Section 6 – Matt Damm, Columbus & Brooke Woodbury, Baraboo
  • Section 7 – William Litzer, Edgar & Mason Gukenberger, Marshfield
  • Section 8 – Mark Kunde, Winneconne & Stacy Boettcher, Weyauwega-Fremont
  • Section 9 – Nicole Wallander, Kiel & Missy Steffes, New Holstein
  • Section 10 – Jim Schneider, Campbellsport & Mary Gundrum, Mayville