Potato Growers — Time To Vote

DATCP has certified three nominees that are eligible to be elected to the Wisconsin Potato Industry Board. Candidates were nominated during the period that ended April 1. Potato growers will have until June 15 to vote on the following candidates:

At-Large Nominee: Andrew Diercks, Coloma

District 1 Nominee: Keith Wolter, Antigo
Ashland, Barron, Bayfield, Brown, Burnett, Chippewa, Clark, Door, Douglas, Dunn, Eau Claire, Florence, Forest, Iron, Kewaunee, Langlade, Lincoln, Marinette, Menominee, Oconto, Oneida, Pepin, Pierce, Polk, Price, Rusk, Sawyer, St. Croix, Taylor, Vilas, and Washburn counties.

District 2 Nominee: John Fenske, Coloma
Marathon, Outagamie, Portage, Shawano, Waupaca, and Waushara counties.

DATCP will mail ballots to eligible potato growers the week of May 15. Growers that have not received a ballot by May 20 can request a ballot by contacting DATCP Market Orders Program Coordinator Debbie Gegare at 608-224-5116 or [email protected].

Eligible growers can vote for the candidate in their respective district or write in other eligible producers. Completed ballots must be emailed or mailed to WI DATCP, Marketing Order Program, P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708 and postmarked on or before June 15.

Elected producers will serve three-year terms beginning July 1 and ending June 30, 2025.

The Wisconsin Potato Industry Board is composed of nine producers in three districts across the state, with one at-large member elected every third year. The board oversees the collection and use of approximately $1.7 million in assessment fees paid by Wisconsin potato growers. This funding is used to support the potato industry through research, education and promotion of Wisconsin-grown potatoes.