Potato Board Elections Underway

The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection has certified three nominees for the Wisconsin Potato Industry Board.

The Wisconsin Potato Industry Board includes nine producers in three districts across the state, with one at-large member elected every third year. The board oversees the collection and use of approximately $2 million in assessment fees paid by Wisconsin potato growers. This funding supports the potato industry through research, education, and promotion of Wisconsin-grown potatoes.

Candidates were nominated during the period that ended March 29. Potato growers have until June 15 to vote on the following candidates:

District 1 Nominee: Eric Schroeder, Deerbrook
Ashland, Barron, Bayfield, Brown, Burnett, Chippewa, Clark, Door, Douglas, Dunn, Eau Claire, Florence, Forest, Iron, Kewaunee, Langlade, Lincoln, Marinette, Menominee, Oconto, Oneida, Pepin, Pierce, Polk, Price, Rusk, Sawyer, St. Croix, Taylor, Vilas, and Washburn counties.

District 2 Nominee: James Okray, Stevens Point
Marathon, Outagamie, Portage, Shawano, Waupaca, and Waushara counties.

District 3 Nominee: Roderick Gumz, Endeavor
Adams, Buffalo, Calumet, Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Grant, Green, Green Lake, Iowa, Jackson, Jefferson, Juneau, Kenosha, La Crosse, Lafayette, Manitowoc, Marquette, Milwaukee, Monroe, Ozaukee, Racine, Richland, Rock, Sauk, Sheboygan, Trempealeau, Vernon, Walworth, Washington, Waukesha, Winnebago, and Wood counties.

DATCP mailed ballots to eligible potato growers the week of May 10. Growers that have not received a ballot by May 20 can request a ballot by contacting DATCP Market Orders staff at DATCPMarketOrders@wisconsin.gov.

Eligible growers can vote for the candidate in their respective district or write in the name of another eligible producer. Mail completed ballots to DATCP, Market Orders Program, PO Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708. You must postmark it on or before June 15.

Elected producers will serve three-year terms beginning July 1.