New Leadership Elected For WPVGA

Alex Okray

At a brief meeting held immediately following the Wisconsin Potato & Vegetable Growers Association (WPVGA) Annual Meeting held on February 10 in Stevens Point, the WPVGA Board of Directors elected Alex Okray of Okray Family Farms, Plover, as its President for 2022. Okray (District 2) succeeds Bill Guenthner (District 1) of Guenthner Farms Inc., Antigo, who served as Board President in 2021. Randy Fleishauer of Plover River Farms, Stevens Point (District At-Large), was elected Vice President; Guenthner was elected Secretary; and Mike Carter of Bushmans’ Inc., Rosholt (District 2), was elected Treasurer.

In addition to the four board officers, the rest of the WPVGA Board of Directors includes: John Bustamante of Wysocki Family of Companies, Bancroft (District 2); Wendy Dykstra of Alsum Farms & Produce, Friesland (District 3); Josh Knights of Heartland Farms, Inc., Hancock (District 3); Charlie Mattek of J.W. Mattek & Sons, Inc., Deerbrook (District 1); and J.D. Schroeder of Schroeder Bros. Farms, Inc., Antigo (District 1). 

Julie Cartwright

The WPVGA Associate Division Board of Directors elected Julie Cartwright of Jay-Mar, Inc., Plover, to be its President for 2022. Matt Selenske from Allied Cooperative’s Pest Pros Division, Adams, was elected Vice President of the Board. The rest of the directors for 2022 include: Andrew Curran of R&R Insurance, Appleton; Morgan Forbush, McCain Foods USA, Inc.,Wisconsin Rapids; Ethan Olson, T H Agri-Chemicals, Inc., Plainfield; Paul Salm (Treasurer) of BMO Harris Bank, Altoona; Sally Suprise (Secretary), C & D Professional Insurance Services, Waupaca; and Andy Verhasselt of T.I.P., Inc., Custer.

Suprise was an incumbent Associate Division Board member who was re-elected to the Board for her second term. Curran, Forbush and Olson were elected for their first terms on the Board. They replace Chris Brooks, Central Door Solutions, who served two terms on the Board, one as President; Rich Wilcox, First State Bank, who served two terms on the Board as Treasurer; and Justin Yach, Compass Insurance Services, who served one term on the Board.

Roy Gallenberg

As part of the Wisconsin Seed Potato Improvement Association (WSPIA) Annual Meeting held January 26 in Antigo, the WSPIA Board of Directors elected Roy Gallenberg of Gallenberg Farms, Inc., Antigo, President for 2022. Gallenberg succeeds J.D. Schroeder of Schroeder Brothers Farms, Inc., Antigo, who served as Board President in 2021. Matt Mattek of J.W. Mattek & Sons, Inc., Deerbrook, was elected Vice President; and Andy Schroeder of Schroeder Brothers Farms, Antigo, was elected Secretary/Treasurer.

In addition to the three board officers, the other two directors on the WSPIA Board are Charlie Husnick, Baginski Farms, Antigo, and Jeff Suchon, Bushman’s Riverside Ranch, Inc., Crivitz.