Ginseng Board Elects Three

Starting July 1, David Schumacher of Marathon, Joe Heil of Edgar, and Meilyn Xiong of Wausau will begin three-year terms as elected members of the Ginseng Board of Wisconsin.

DATCP certified the 2021 election results this week.

The board is composed of seven at-large producers that are responsible for administering Wisconsin’s Ginseng Marketing Order. The board oversees the collection and use of approximately $300,000 in assessment fees paid by Wisconsin ginseng growers. This funding is used to support the ginseng industry through research, education, and promotion of Wisconsin-grown ginseng.