Cranberry Growers Hold Annual Meeting, Board Elections, and Awards

The Wisconsin State Cranberry Grower’s Association (WSCGA) held its annual winter meeting Wednesday, January 27 via Zoom video conference. The meeting allowed members to participate in board member elections, recognized outstanding members of the industry, and gave the membership updates on a variety of industry topics. Three Board seats were open for election.

Three incumbents, Rusty Schultz of Madison, Karl Pippenger of Philips and Jenna Van Wychen of Tomah were elected to three-year terms on the board. At the board organization meeting Steven Bartling was re-elected to serve as the President, Rocky Biegel, Vice President, Mary Smedbronn, Secretary and Jenna Van Wychen, Treasurer.

The meeting also gave WSCGA to recognize exceptional members of the cranberry growing industry. The awards and recipients are as follows:

Service to Industry Award-Nicole Hansen, Cranberry Creek Cranberries

President’s Award-Tom Gardner, Hay Creek Companies and Gardner Cranberry

Public Policy Advocate-Karl Pippenger

Education Advocate-Pam Verhulst

Communications Advocate-Amber Bristrow

Researcher of the Year- Jack Perry

Associate Member of the Year-Vine Vest, LLC