Corn Growers Add New Faces

The Wisconsin Corn Growers Association (WCGA) Annual meeting contained officer elections and high fives to the states best corn growers!

Doug Rebout was re-elected to serve his third term with the WCGA Board of Directors. Rebout has served as the organization’s president for the past three years and farms in partnership with his mother, Mary Joan Rebout and brothers, Daniel and David. Together they farm 4,000 acres of corn, soybeans, winter wheat and alfalfa. They ship out 200 fat steers a year and custom raise heifers for a neighboring farm. Rebout has served on the Governor’s Task Force on Climate Change and is a member of the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection Board of Directors.

Andrea Brossard and Luke Goessling were elected to serve their first three-year terms as directors.

Brossard is a third-generation farmer in Beaver Dam. She and her family milk 400 Holsteins and farm 800 acres. She is a member of the Dodge County Farm Bureau Board of Directors and serves on the American Farm Bureau Federation Promotion and Education Committee. Brossard graduated from UW-Madison with degrees in agricultural journalism and dairy science.

Goessling farms in Whitewater on around 700 acres, alongside his wife and two sons. Besides running their family farm, Goessling owns and operates a gravel trucking company, servicing southern Wisconsin. He has been an active member of WCGA, participating in a number of advocacy-related events.

Ben Huber, Agronomy Department Manager at Insight FS, was elected to serve as an Associate Director. He and his wife Stephanie live in rural Green County with their three children, Tessa, Jace and Beau. At Insight, Huber is responsible for leading the sales, marketing, precision Ag and product procurement efforts of their agronomy division in Wisconsin. He is also actively involved in Wisconsin Farm Bureau. Huber graduated from UW-Platteville in 2006 with a degree in agricultural education and he and Stephanie help operate their family’s grain farm in northern Illinois.

At a reorganization meeting immediately following the Annual Meeting, the WCGA Board of Directors named their 2021 officer team: Mark Hoffmann, President; Mike Berget, Vice President; and Shane Goplin, Secretary/Treasurer. At-Large Directors include Andrea Brossard, James Giese, Luke Goessling, Steve Knoebel, Doug Rebout and Zeb Zuehls. Ben Huber and Loren Jesch serve as Associate Directors and Joe Lauer of UW-Extension as an Ex-Officio.

The Wisconsin Corn Growers Association (WCGA) also named the 2020 Wisconsin Corn Yield Contest winners.

Winners were selected from four geographical divisions – the Northern and Southern divisions plus two county-specific divisions. The county-specific divisions were based on active county corn grower associations and included: Columbia and Rock. In total, there were four eligible divisions that were awarded cash prizes to the first ($500), second ($250) and third ($100) place winners, where applicable. The winning entries had the highest corn yield based on bushels per acre.

The 2020 winners were:

Columbia County Corn Growers

Allan Schroeder, Rio – 255.7947 bu/acre

Zachary Mickelson, DeForest – 243.4133 bu/acre

Rock County Corn Growers

Nick Venable, Janesville – 279.1467 bu/acre

Northern Wisconsin

Jeff Laskowski, Plover – 302.4913 bu/acre

Eric Weber, Barron – 272.7541 bu/acre

Barb Laskowski, Plover – 271.7817 bu/acre

Southern Wisconsin

Jerry Kreuziger, Juneau – 266.5071 bu/acre

Dan Duthie, Theresa – 248.226 bu/acre

Richard Lucas, Hancock – 244.6635 bu/acre

To be eligible, entrants must be a WCGA member in good standing and the contest entry must be from a field of corn 10 or more acres in size of one variety. The contest area may be any shape, but the contest plot must be a total of 1.25 or more harvested acres.