Ag Educators Recognize Leaders In Industry

Pictured: VIP award went to farm broadcasters Pam Jahnke, Bob Bosold, and Bob Meyer

At the end of June, local agriculture educators attended the Professional Development Conference for the Wisconsin Association of Agricultural Educators.

Throughout the year, agricultural educators provide a wide variety of experiences in agriculture for students, which aids them in becoming college and career-ready.

Agricultural education is critical at all levels of the education system as these classes provide students with the skills and knowledge needed for careers in this fast-paced and dynamic industry. Wisconsin’s agricultural industry works to provide food, fuel, fiber, and shelter to meet the needs of the growing world.

The WAAE Professional Development Conference gives members an opportunity to participate in hands-on workshops that focus on the latest trends in agriculture, technology, and innovative strategies to bring those techniques into the classroom.

The group also took time to recognize leaders in the industry.

State Winners

  • Outstanding Secondary Ag Program-De Soto, Hillary Bark, Instructor;
  • Outstanding Ag Educator went to Sandy Dykes of Weyauwega-Fremont;
  • Outstanding Early Career Educator went to Loghan Amborn of Greenwood;
  • Teacher Mentor went to Darren Swartz of Bloomer;
  • Outstanding Post Secondary Program went to Fox Valley Technical College, Animal Science Educators Kaitlin Spierings, Dr. Lori Nagel, Dr. Sarah Mills-Lloyd, Nick Schneider, and Jason Fisher;
  • Teacher Turn The Key Award went to Amelia Hayden of Osseo-Fairchild;
  • Outstanding Post Secondary Educator went to Kaitlin Spierings of Fox Valley Technical College;
  • Honored Secondary Educator went to Jan Hildebrandt, Dan Ziegler, and Brad Sirianni;
  • NAAE Lifetime Achievement went to David Laatsch;
  • NAAE Outstanding Service & Cooperation went to;
  • Organizational Relations Award went to Kwik Trip;
  • Platinum Service went to Don Josko;
  • State Special Citation went to Randy Romanski, Wisconsin Secretary of Agriculture, Trade, and Consumer Protection and Cheryl Steinbach, Executive Director of WI FFA Alumni & Supporters;
  • VIP award went to Bob Bosold, Pam Jahnke, and Bob Meyer.