2021 Soybean Yield Finalists Announced

The finalists for the 2021 WSA Soybean Yield Contest were announced.  The top two entries in each division (in no particular order) are:

Division 4:

  • Ron Digman, Mount Hope (planted Pioneer P28A42X)
  • Don and Doug Midthun, Arlington (planted Asgrow AG20X9)

Division 3:

  • Jim Salentine, Luxemburg (planted Stine 20EB23)

*Only one entry was submitted for Division 3

Division 2:

  • Scott Peavey, Woodville (planted Asgrow AG11X8)
  • Mike and Dean Wegner, Sparta (planted Pioneer P18A33X)

Division 1: 

  • Jim Wilson, St. Croix Falls (planted Asgrow AG11X8)
  • Josey Wilson, St. Croix Falls (planted Pioneer P16A84X)

The Soybean Quality Contest was optional for any Soybean Yield Contest entrant.  There are no geographical divisions for the Quality Contest.  One cash award will be presented statewide to the highest protein plus oil yield per acre (measured in lbs. per acre).

  • Jim Salentine, Luxemburg (planted Stine 20EB23)

*Only one grain sample was submitted for the Soybean Quality Contest.

The final ranking and awards will be presented at the Corn Soy Expo to be held at the Kalahari Convention Center, Wisconsin Dells on Thursday, February 3rd, during the WSA/WSMB annual meeting.

The contest is sponsored by the WI Soybean Program and organized to encourage the development of new and innovative management practices and to show the importance of using sound cultural practices in WI soybean production.

For more information please contact Shawn Conley, WI State Soybean Specialist at 608-800-7056 or [email protected].