The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) has announced the members of the next Wisconsin Agriculture Youth Council.

These fifteen students, who will be high school seniors during the 2022 – 2023 school year, will serve a one-year term on the council.

Members of the 2022 – 2023 Wisconsin Agriculture Youth Council include:
Morgan Baerwolf, Sun Prairie
Rachel Boehlke, Thorp
Brandon Boyd, Watertown
Ava Endres, Waunakee
Claire Esselman, Clinton
Arionna Harris, Milwaukee
Jacob Harbaugh, Marion
Natalie Hensen, Waunakee
Henry Koerner, Walworth
Henry Larson, Reedsburg
Ethan Lulich, Lyndon Station
Brianna Meyer, Chilton
Alyssa Schauer, Mukwonago
Talena Sprecher, Lone Rock
Jescey Thompson, Galesville

“Congratulations to these students on their selection to the Wisconsin Agriculture Youth Council,” said DATCP Secretary Randy Romanski. “While the students share a passion for agriculture, they each have unique experiences and knowledge that will contribute to vibrant conversations in next year’s sessions.”

The goals of the Wisconsin Agriculture Youth Council are to highlight agricultural-related careers, share resources available for farmers, provide insight into agricultural policy development, and increase networking opportunities across the industry. DATCP formed the Wisconsin Agriculture Youth Council in 2020.

Council members were selected based on their submitted application materials, which included a brief essay, one-minute video, and letter of recommendation. Starting in September 2022, the council members will meet virtually each month to listen to speakers and engage in discussion about a variety of agricultural topics.

The current Wisconsin Agriculture Youth Council members will end their term on Thursday, May 12, 2022. Current council members will participate in a final virtual session before joining the DATCP Board meeting to introduce themselves and interact with the DATCP Board members.